Australian Government response to the National Ice Taskforce Final Report

In response to the findings of the National Ice Taskforce, the Commonwealth Government has developed a comprehensive package to combat ice across five key areas.

Page last updated: 07 December 2015

  • Support for families and communities
  • Targeted prevention
  • Investment in treatment and workforce
  • Focused law enforcement
  • Better evidence and research.
To support this package, almost $300m in new funding is being provided. This includes an additional $285.2 million over four years to support community action, the delivery of further treatment services and improvements in research and data collection. This also includes an additional $13 million to support Addiction Medical Specialists through the introduction of new items on the Medicare Benefits Schedule.

Taking action to combat ice (PDF 610 KB)
Taking action to combat ice (HTML)

The response presents a comprehensive package of action to combat ice in Australia through the delivery of locally-based and targeted solutions.

Final Report of the National Ice Taskforce

In April 2014, the Government established a National Ice Taskforce—led by former Chief Commissioner of Victoria Police Mr Ken Lay APM. The Government asked the Taskforce to provide advice to Government on the development of a National Ice Action Strategy.

The Taskforce consulted widely with experts and communities all around the country—and received around 1,300 public submissions.

The Taskforce found Australian families, communities and frontline service workers are struggling with the fallout from a growing number of dependent ice users. The report finds we need to be smarter, more coordinated and more targeted in efforts to reduce the demand and supply of ice. It acknowledges the critical role of law enforcement efforts, but makes the case that tackling this issue must also include education, training and better access to treatment and services.

The Final Report of the National Ice Taskforce is available on the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet website (